Lucky 13
1 Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing
4 Mr. Sanders
5 Compared To What
6 With These Hands
7 Sun Up
8 88 Strong
9 Amazing Grace

“Javon Jackson’s simultaneously brawny and brainy tenor sound, burly and commanding but also capable of surgical precision, is well featured on Lucky 13, not coincidentally his 13th album as a leader. Having graduated from the schools of Art Blakey, Elvin Jones and Betty Carter before embarking on his solo career, Jackson knows a thing or two about pacing and programming, and he applies those skills to this appealing set of familiar tunes and original compositions.” – Philip Booth, JazzTimes


Release Date

January 1, 2012